UFC 278: Kamaru Usman vs. Leon Edwards fight card, start time, channel guide

UFC 278: Kamaru Usman vs. Leon Edwards fight card, start time, channel guide.

On Saturday, Aug. 20, the UFC‘s pound-for-pound king Kamaru “The Nigerian Nightmare” Usman will look to tie Anderson Silva for the longest UFC win streak ever (16) against Leon “Rocky” Edwards at UFC 278.

After an action-packed UFC San Diego that ended in a brutal knockout kick win for Marlon Vera, the UFC returns to Vivint Arena in Salt Lake City, UT for UFC 278. The main event features the second meeting between the welterweight champion Usman (20-1) and the challenger Edwards (19-3). In their first fight back in 2015, Usman defeated Edwards by unanimous decision.

Another exciting matchup to keep an eye on for UFC 278 is the co-main event between middleweights Paulo “Borrachinha” Costa (13-2) and former champ Luke Rockhold (16-5). The Brazillian Costa is a significant favorite at -285, and this will be Rockhold’s first fight in over three years. Additionally, there is a high-stakes bantamweight clash between former featherweight champion José “Junior” Aldo (31-7) and Merab “The Machine” Dvalishvili (14-4).

Here is all you need to know to watch UFC 278: Kamaru Usman vs. Leon Edwards

Date: Saturday, Aug. 20, 2022
Start Time: Early Prelims start at 6 p.m. ET/3 p.m. PT, Prelims start at 8 p.m. ET/5 p.m. PT, Main card starts at 10 p.m. ET/7 p.m. PT
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Venue: Vivint Arena
Main Card Live Stream: ESPN+ PPV
Prelims Live Stream: ESPN/ABC/ESPN+
Early Prelims Live Stream: ESPN/ESPN+

Main Card (ESPN+ PPV, 10 p.m. ET/7 p.m. PT)

  • Main event: Kamaru Usman vs. Leon Edwards
  • Co-main: Paulo Costa vs. Luke Rockhold
  • José Aldo vs. Merab Dvalishvili
  • Marcin Tybura vs. Alexandr Romanov
  • Tyson Pedro vs. Harry Hunsucker

Preliminary Card (ESPN/ABC/ESPN+, 8 p.m. ET/5 p.m. PT)

  • Leonardo Santos vs. Jared Gordon
  • Wu Yanan vs. Lucie Pudilova
  • Sean Woodson vs. Luis Saldana
  • Miranda Maverick vs. Shanna Young

Early Preliminary Card (ESPN/ESPN+, 6 p.m. ET/3 p.m. PT)

  • AJ Fletcher vs. Ange Loosa
  • Amir Albazi vs. Francisco Figueiredo
  • Aoriqileng vs. Jay Perrin
  • Daniel Da Silva vs. Victor Altamirano

UFC 278: Kamaru Usman vs. Leon Edwards takes place on Saturday, Aug. 20, 2022, live from the Vivint Arena in Salt Lake City, UT. Follow along with FanSided MMA, who is on-site for all your news and highlights.

Published at Mon, 15 Aug 2022 22:45:33 +0000