UFC Fight Island 8: Michael Chiesa vs. Neil Magny fight card

UFC Fight Island 8: Michael Chiesa vs. Neil Magny fight card.

It’s not the welterweight clash that plenty of people were looking forward to, but we will get a fight at 170 as the main event of UFC Fight Island 8, as Michael Chiesa will square off with Neil Magny on the special Wednesday, Jan. 20 card.

The initially planned headliner for the card was scheduled to be Leon Edwards facing Khamzat Chimaev, with Chiesa vs. Magny to serve as the co-main event. Edwards vs. Chimaev was set to take place last month before Edwards tested positive for COVID-19. Now, it’s Chimaev who has tested positive, forcing him out of the fight, with the UFC also removing Edwards from the event in order to have the now twice-delayed bout take place in March.

Chiesa has won three straight since moving up to welterweight at the end of 2018, scoring a submission of former interim champ Carlos Condit at UFC 232, as well as decision wins over Diego Sanchez and Rafael dos Anjos.

After sitting out for most of 2019, a good portion of which coming via USADA suspension, Magny returned with a win over Li Jingliang at UFC 248, before scoring wins over Anthony Rocco Martin and Robbie Lawler to secure his own three-fight win streak heading into this contest.

Full UFC Fight Island 8: Michael Chiesa vs. Neil Magny fight card

This will be an especially European-friendly fight card, as the prelims will start at 2 p.m. GMT, with the main card going down at 5 p.m. GMT.

Fight fans living in the Western Hemisphere will need to prepare for an early day, as well as potentially needing to call out of work to watch the event live. The special Wednesday fight card will begin with prelims at 9 a.m. ET/8 a.m. CT/6 a.m. PT, and the main card beginning at 12 p.m. ET/11 a.m. CT/9 a.m. PT.

* Fight cards subject to change

Main Card (12 p.m. ET, ESPN & ESPN+)

  • Michael Chiesa vs. Neil Magny
  • Warlley Alves vs. Mounir Lazzez
  • Isaac Villanueva vs. Vinicius Moreira
  • Roxanne Modafferi vs. Viviane Araújo
  • Matt Schnell vs. Tyson Nam
  • Lerone Murphy vs. Douglas Silva de Andrade

Preliminary Card (9 a.m. ET, ESPN & ESPN+)

  • Omari Akhmedov vs. Tom Breese
  • Ricky Simon vs. Gaetano Pirrello
  • Su Mudaerji vs. Zarrukh Adashev
  • Dalcha Lungiambula vs. Markus Perez
  • Francisco Figueiredo vs. Jerome Rivera
  • Mike Davis vs. Mason Jones
  • Umar Nurmagomedov vs. Sergey Morozov
  • Victoria Leonardo vs. Manon Fiorot

UFC Fight Island 8 takes place on Wednesday, Jan. 20, 2021, live from Yas Island in Abu Dhabi, UAE. Follow along with FanSided for all your live news and highlights.

Published at Thu, 14 Jan 2021 20:32:25 +0000

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *